Well, we understand that there are various reasons why you may want to delete your MI account. Xiaomi added MI account to ensure the safety of its users and protect the phone from someone who is not the legal owner of the device. With an MI cloud account, the users can sync their information while the MI account works to enhance the safety of the data. Though Xiaomi would release devices with unlocked bootloaders before, the scenario has changed. To ensure the highest safety of the users, Xiaomi now brings devices with a locked bootloader and lets the owners unlock that by creating MI accounts with proper credentials.
By the way, if you want to delete your MI account, you can do that very simply. We will discuss here how to delete MI account from your Xiaomi device in two ways. However, if you just want to remove the MI account from your device temporarily, we can also help you. We are going to start with this the second one first and then we will discuss how to delete MI account permanently. Let’s begin.
How To Remove Mi Account From Your Device Only
Removing your MI account from your device is very easy. Follow these steps below to proceed:
- Go to Settings=>Accounts. Choose the MI account from the list of the accounts saved there.
- After clicking on the MI account, you will see the related data (personal info, account security, etc.) associated with your MI account.
- Look at the bottom of the page. You will notice the “Sign Out” option. Click on that, and you are done!
How To Delete MI Account Permanently
If you want to delete your MI account permanently, you have to unlink all your devices that are associated with the device first. When you complete unlinking the devices, you can proceed to delete your MI account quite smoothly. Follow the steps are mentioning below to delete the MI account.
[#] Access to My Cloud by clicking on the following link: https://i.mi.com. Connect to the account that you want to delete. You should save your important contacts, messages, notes and anything necessary for the future.
[#] You have to access the elements button that is placed at the top. There you will see all the connected or linked devices associated with your MI account.
[#] Choose the devices one by one and click “Delete Device” for each to manage the unlinking of the account with the devices.
[#] Note that if you are a user of Mi Band or other Xiaomi devices like this, you should unlink them too from the corresponding app so that you do not face linking errors in the days to come.
[#] Once you complete unlinking all the devices associated with the account, it’s time to proceed on for MI Account Remove. However, keep in mind that, deleting your MI account permanently will delete all the data or any other information stored in your account. You cannot turn back or restore the data anymore.
[#] If you have taken the final decision of removing your MI account, enter or click on the following URL from your browser: https://account.xiaomi.com/pass/del. However, if you have any devices linked with the account yet, you cannot delete the account. So, if you cannot delete your MI account, you have to go back to unlink all the devices.
[#] If you are sure that you have already unlinked all the devices, you should now proceed to delete the account. You have to connect the account that you want to eliminate. However, if you signed out from your device, you have to sign in again to delete the account.
[#] When you will sign in to delete the account, you will see a popup notification from Xiaomi to remind you that you cannot get back your account and lose all the data associated with the account. To proceed with the deletion work, you have to agree by tapping on “Yes, I want to permanently delete my MI account and all its data”. Then click on “Delete MI Account”.
[#] Once you click on “Delete MI Account”, you will receive a code to your email address or phone that you used for your MI account.
[#] Open your mail or phone inbox to get the verification code. Copy that code and enter that on the box that is meant for the input. You have to perform this by 1 minute.
[#] Now Xiaomi will warn you again that you will get disconnected from the account in all of your devices. If you agree on this, you have to click on “Delete Account” for the final time. And you are done! You have successfully deleted your MI account.
Deleting your MI account will remove all the associated data with the account. We recommend you not to delete your MI account without taking the backups.